Can First aid be used on yourself, or only others? For example, you receive a Long Rend, because you have Grit, and get safely under cover. Can you spend 1 minute of your 5 minute bleed out to Restore Blood on yourself, or does being under the influence of a Rend prevent you from performing that action?
Post by Marten Eltoren on Apr 22, 2019 22:55:08 GMT -5
That's a really interesting case, because being under the Rend effect implies bleeding out while still standing. Any amount of healing will end the Rend effect. This is true of all cases where a character is bleeding out. The "First Aid" ability is worded the way that it is to account for two situations, one in which you want to save someone's life but keep them unconscious ("Stabilize") and the situation where you want them up and at 'em immediately ("First Aid").
From the core rulebook (page 25):
If you are in the BLEED OUT condition from a REND effect, you remain conscious and can move and operate as per normal. However, if no action has been done to either REMOVE REND or bring you out of BLEED OUT (RESTORE BLOOD, First Aid, or DRAIN) then as per normal at the conclusion of the sixty count you will fall into your DEATH COUNT.
There is no rule that says that you cannot use First Aid on yourself as far as I know (if you are conscious). You can also use a Restore Blood ability or drink a Blood Tonic or something to stop bleeding out as well.