1) Does the Bestowed effect also have to have sympathy in order to qualify for the discount? For example Bestow and Shield are Cosmological. But to bestow a Choke, Choke is Philosophical. Does Choke not being Cosmological void the discount or does it only matter for Bestow to match the element? (Hope that wasn't too confusing)
2) Should be obvious, but I haven't seen it anywhere. Bestowing an effect with a duration. The chosen duration gets added into the incant also (doesn't just get some base default or something?) For example
Void Bestow Choke by Area for 1 minute by Area Until Used
Also, with question 1, is this spell 5 Stamina 6 Focus or 5 Stamina 5 Focus?
Thanks for the help.
3) Somewhat related. Is there a hard cap for the amount of attribute points you can go over maximum? Also maximum extra ticks on a symbol. Was theory crafting (because the details for this aren't in the book). Bestow allows attribute points to go over maximum. Let's assume multiple people have the same spell drawn up and have a base 10 Stamina (for simplicity sake). Person A bestows Stamina to Person B. Then Person B takes their original Stamina plus their Bestowed amount and bestows that to Person C. And so on. Is there a cap/rules in place to prevent multiple people with multiple resets amassing ungodly amounts of attributes? Or am I just missing some key rule that invalidates all of this?
Heyo. Not a staffer, but I'm pretty sure I know the answers to your questions. First, here are the general rules of the Bestow effect.
-Can use all delivery symbols to cast the BESTOW effect. (e.g. Aetherus Imperto <Effect> Illaris Paratus is legal)
-The effect being Bestowed can only have single target deliveries (By Touch, By Strike, By Bolt, By Gesture) specified as its valid deliveries. (e.g. Aetherus Imperto Mutilus Centris Centris Paratus is not legal since it's trying to do AREA BESTOW AREA MAIM)
-Cannot BESTOW the Bestow effect. (e.g. Aetherus Imperto Imperto <Effect> Contago Paratus is not legal)
-Cannot BESTOW compound effects. (e.g. Aetherus Imperto <Effect> <Effect> Contago Paratus is not legal)
-The carrier being cast is the carrier of the bestowed effect. (e.g. For the purposes of having a carrier, Aetherus Imperto <Effect> Contago Paratus will grant the target a use of <Effect> by Aether)
As for your specific questions:
1.) Yes, the Bestowed effect must match with sympathy. So something like Bestow Commune would be sympathetic, but Bestow Maim would not be sympathetic. Also note that you do not need to use the Bestow effect to give a Shield.
2.) Yes, the duration gets added in the incant.
E.g. Aetherus Imperto Furia Lineus Medox Centris Paratus - AREA BESTOW BY GESTURE SHORT RAGE BY AETHER
3.) Max Bestow amount is +5 to any stat. The cost to Bestow attributes is 2 for each +1. So if you want to Bestow +1FP, it costs 2FP. If you want to Bestow +5FP, it costs 10FP. Also note that Bestows do not stack. So say you have been Bestowed +1FP and somebody Bestows +2FP to you. You now have +2FP, not +3FP. Consequentally, say you have +2FP and somebody Bestows you +1FP. The call here is No Effect, since you already have a higher Bestowed amount.